Our Last Adventure

When we were in Ecuador and had a crazy adventure we’d laugh because it meant we were on real journey, not a tourist get away. When we got stranded in China we weren’t super happy, but we appreciated that we’d laugh about it one day. In India when we had unexpected adventures we rolled our eyes and sighed. If ever there was the time I didn’t want an adventure, it was the already incredibly long journey home. Here is the story of our crazy couple days on the way home. Our last hotel was about 7 hours away from the airport, and our guide recommended arriving at the airport at least 4 hours early. Plus, the roads are so unpredictable in India that we gave ourselves 3 extra hours just in case. The trip felt like it took forever. Finally, we stopped at a little Indian fast food restaurant near the airport. I got a sandwich that was incredibly greasy. I knew my stomach would regret that decision later, but I was so hungry that I ate it anyways. Liza already wasn’t feeling good so she spent the whole time I was eating in the bathroom throwing up. Then she was so dehydrated, hungry, and tired that she looked really pale and had really bad headaches. Finally, we made it to the airport at 3:30 PM, 7 hours before or flight was supposed to depart. They told us we couldn’t even print our tickets until 3 hours before our flight. We couldn’t get the wifi at the airport to work so we played cards for 4 hours. At 7:30 we went to get our ticket and they told us our flight was delayed until 1 AM. That meant we’d miss our flight from Newark, NJ to Minneapolis so they moved us from the 6:45 AM flight to a noon flight. So we sat around waiting and suddenly I broke out in hives. I think it was from how tired and stressed I was. I was so itchy that I hardly slept on our incredibly hot, 15 hour, overnight flight to Newark. When we finally landed we went through immigration and customs, which was good because it meant we wouldn’t have to do that in Minneapolis. We could just pick up our bags and go home. When we finished with that, at about 7:45 AM, we went to find our gate. We looked at one of the information screens and saw that the 6:45 flight that we were supposed to be on got delayed until 9:45 AM. That was a much shorter wait so we asked if we could be put back on that flight. Fortunately (unfortunately, actually) we got put on that flight. Then for the next several hours it got delayed by half an hour, every half hour. A flight from Baltimore got delayed, and they weren’t sure when it was coming so they kept pushing the departure time back. Finally, 40 minutes after the flight we were supposed to be on initially left, we took off for Minneapolis. It was the longest 3 hours ever. When we finally landed we got vouchers for a free alcoholic beverage on our next flight. That does me a lot of good since I’m 19. When I finally got home everything was perfect! Everyone loved their presents, I took a real shower, flushed toilet paper down the toilet, and ate a 20 oz t-bone steak. My mom also bought a bunch of fruit roll ups and salt and vinegar chips, my favorite junk food. Now I have to start figuring out what to do with myself this summer. I think I want to try a triathlon.Image

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy Rions on March 17, 2013 at 6:14 pm

    We’re glad you made it home safe and sound!!
    Love Grandpa and Nana

    Reply

  2. Posted by KaoZoua Xiong on March 24, 2013 at 10:39 pm

    Tom, it was awesome hearing about your story over these long 7 months 🙂

    Reply

  3. Posted by David Susag on April 19, 2013 at 12:37 am

    posting more updates?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

