The Beginning of the End

We are a couple days into our tour now, and we are having a lot of fun. First we did a tour of Delhi. It was great! We saw the Red Fort, Jama Masjid which is an old mosque, a lot of Ghandi memorials, the India Gate, Humayun’s Tomb, and much more. Two of my favorites were the Lotus Temple and Lodi Park. Lodi Park was a beautiful park with a lot of old mosques and tombs. It was so cool because they looked like something on a fictional movie. They were they big, grey, run down buildings with vines and palm trees around them.
After Delhi we headed to Agra. The first night we saw some sights including the Agra Fort. The Red Fort is more famous, but I thought the Agra Fort was more impressive. The Mughals, who built the fort, were so big on symmetry in their architecture that we almost got lost. Everything looks the same from every side and if there’s a big square plaza, all of the gates surrounding it are the same. The next morning we woke up at sunrise to see the Taj Mahal. The way the light hits it in the morning makes it look the most beautiful shade of orange. I ran over to the side to get a picture of the sun coming up behind it. I was surprised because I thought everyone would want that picture, but I was the only one. Again, they were so big on symmetry that a picture from the front of the Taj Mahal looks exactly the same as a picture from the side.
Now we’re staying near Ranthambore National Park. We did a safari this morning. We didn’t see any tigers, but we saw a lot of other animals. It’s amazing how many animals there are when there aren’t crazy red necks running around shooting them all with military grade assault weapons. We saw a ton of deer, a ton of peacocks, a ton of monkeys, a jackal, wild boar, crocodiles, and a ton of beautiful birds. We have one more safari tonight so hopefully we’ll see a tiger!
In other news, we’ve booked our tickets home! I’ll be some the morning of March 15th! I’ve had a ton of fun, and I’ll continue to have fun, but I’m still really excited to be home. I thought travelling would be relaxing, but there’s so little margin for error so we’ve constantly been planning, stressing, worrying about money, unpacking, and packing. I can’t wait to take a breather and watch some crappy American TV.
We haven’t had a reliable Internet connection in a while, but I’ll keep trying to post pictures whenever I get the chance. I promise that in two weeks I’ll post my India slide show which will have all the pictures of everything we’ve seen!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy Rions on March 4, 2013 at 2:20 am

    Sounds like you’ve seen a lot. I’m tired just reading about all you’ve done. You’ll have some great memories and stories to tell your grandkids. Can’t wait to see you!!

    Love, Nana

    Reply

  2. Posted by Heather Susag on March 4, 2013 at 4:08 am

    I hope the sunrise pic was for me as you kissed a cow for my dad…lol

    Reply

Leave a Reply

