Los Angeles

After Thanksgiving we returned to Quito for our final days in Ecuador. We visited a nearby market to buy some x-mas presents, and we tried Guinea Pig. We had to. It wasn’t very good though. It was burnt and covered in salt. Plus there was only like 3 bites of meat on it. Then we went to the airport for a short 2 hour flight to Lima, Peru for a 14 hour, overnight layover. I had my laptop and Liza had her iPad so I didn’t want to sleep because there was a constant flow of people throughout the whole night. Then we finally had a 9 hour flight to Los Angeles, where we will be spending a couple days with our families before going to New Zealand. Since I didn’t sleep all night, I slept pretty well on the flight. when we landed I expected a long wait to get through customs, but it only took about 10 minutes! Then we found our families for the first time in 3 months. My grandpa’s brother owns a house just outside of L.A. so we’re staying there. So far we’ve eaten wings and steak, two food that I really missed. We’ve also visited the beach a couple times, and went shopping to buy some extra toiletries for the next 6 months. Sunday night we head back to the airport to go to New Zealand. We already have 3 host farms set up for us to stay at in exchange for work. I’m pretty excited, but a bit nervous because things are pretty expensive there.

Image

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy Rions on December 2, 2012 at 2:12 am

    Hi Thomas,

    I’m glad you made it to LA with no problems. How does it feel to be back in the US again? Looks like you’ve had quite an adventure and made a lot of memories so far.
    I’m glad you got a chance to see your Mom, Josh and Lexi.

    Your videos are great. I look forward to hearing all about New Zealand. It’s like I’m seeing the world through your eyes.

    Love, Nana

    Reply

Leave a Reply

