Reality Sucks

Here’s what bothers me about reality. In the movies people go on epic adventures all the time. They’re gone for months and years, but they don’t have much stuff. The Lord of the Rings Trilogy are Liza’s favorite movies, and when she got bit by Sambo we watched them. I couldn’t help but notice that they had clothes, food, sleeping bags, pots and pans, etc. All you see in the movie, though, is Sam carrying this tiny bag. How is that possible when I have hardly anything and my bag weighs 70 lbs and is ridiculously huge? They make going on adventures look so glamorous when in reality its terrible. My bag is average sized with what I’ve seen other travelers carrying around, and I can hardly make it through a door. Then I try to pack differently, and I’m so excited because everything fits nicely. While I’m celebrating, however, I come to discover that I forgot to pack about half of my stuff. This alone has changed our minds from visiting a lot of places for a couple days to visiting a couple places for a short amount of time. I think one of these days I’m gonna lose it and spend the rest of the year with only a tooth brush and an extra pair of socks.

Image

 

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy Rions on November 12, 2012 at 9:02 pm

    Are you saying you overpacked? Most people want a lot of stuff but the more you have the more complicated life gets best to just keep it simple, but when it comes to packing I have a hard time following that advice.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Kira Braun on November 20, 2012 at 4:27 am

    A year with only a toothbrush and socks? Challenge accepted. Haha oh Tom I miss your unique opinions on life! I hope your trip is going well! I can’t wait until you go to India!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

