Sambo the Alpha Monkey

Sambo the Alpha Monkey

One day when I was giving the monkeys breakfast (the same monkeys that I fed everyday for 6 weeks) the Alpha Monkey, Sambo, jumped through an electric fence and attacked me. He took a good chunk out of my leg. I got my rabies shots and antibiotics, but talk about scary! Now whenever I go outside he bangs on the fence at me. One of his females was chattering her teeth at me earlier that morning which is a sign of affection. I don’t know what the monkeys see in me.

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy Rions on October 13, 2012 at 10:38 pm

    That looks like a scary monkey, stay as far away from him as you can!

    Stay Safe,
    Nana

    Reply

  2. Posted by David Susag on October 15, 2012 at 5:28 pm

    Hope you get a scar! will make a lifelong campfire story showing your Monkeybite scar!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Kelly on October 17, 2012 at 10:48 pm

    Quit flirting with monkeys! I’m worried about you. Take care of yourself.
    JD had fun sharing your monkey bite story with his preschool class, apparently 4 year olds think it’s pretty cool to get attacked by a monkey 🙂
    I hope you are still enjoying your adventure…monkey attack and all.
    Love you, Mom

    Reply

    • What is this about people saying I’m flirting with monkeys? I have not once made a face that a monkey has made at me back at the monkey. The monkey makes the face, I walk away, then I get bit.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

