Don’t You Hate Waking Up to a Lange Monkey That Could Easily Kill You Trying To Open Your Door?

It all started yesterday when I had to sweep the monkey poo off of this balcony at our house. The balcony was narrow and I’m not very comfortable with heights to begin with. Suddenly, Lisa, a Spider Monkey, jumps up on the balcony. Lisa doesn’t seem aggressive or anything, but the Spider Monkeys are the most dangerous monkeys we have. I notice that she seems to just be watching me so I keep working. Then she makes this weird squinty face at me. It didn’t seem threatening so I made the face back at her. Then she started walking away, but every couple steps she’d turn and make that stupid face at me. All day she followed me doing this. In the afternoon, Yvonne, the owner, saw her make this face at me and says, “Uh oh. By the end of this week maybe you’ll have two girlfriends.” So for the rest of the night I felt uncomfortable. We cooked chicken fried rice for dinner (we wanted to make stir fry but we couldn’t find ginger or broccoli and what’s stir fry without ginger and broccoli?), and she watched us cook the whole time. She watched us eat, and even stared through my bedroom window when I went up to grab something. Finally I was going to take a shower (the ONE bit of peace and quiet I get each day) and she stared through the window the whole time, and she wasn’t staring at my face! After I showered I lied down for bed, and she stared through my window always making that weird face. Then today was our free day so we slept in until I heard I commotion downstairs and people shouting,”Lisa no!” The new volunteers that came this week aren’t exactly competant, and let Lisa in the house. As soon as I heard the shouts I locked my door. Just in time too, because she came straight to my room. Last time she fell in love with a volunteer it lasted until he left. It will be a long 2+ months.Image

4 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Nancy Rions on September 15, 2012 at 11:35 pm

    Sounds like you have an admirer and Liza’s got some competion. Liza better watch her back just in case Lisa has a jealous streak. Are those cute little monkeys really dangerous?
    Love,Nana

    Reply

    • Umm… Yes! If the Spider Monkey wanted it could seriously hurt or kill a person, but the worst has been a small warning bite when someone tried to grab the monkey.

      Reply

  2. Posted by Patty Bean on September 17, 2012 at 1:28 am

    Watching San Fran kick Lion butt…. too bad you’re busy cuddling with monkeys…
    Patty

    Reply

  3. Posted by Lexi on September 18, 2012 at 3:24 pm

    49ers are ranked #1 in the league!!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

