Welcome to the Written Dictation of my Internal Monologue

Hello. If you’re wondering why you’re reading this (as am I wondering why I’m writing this), that’s a good question. I think we both need to take a minute to reflect on our past actions and behaviors and how they’ve lead to this juncture in time. … … … Okay I’m back, I guess I’ve formed this momentary treaty with my greatest enemy, technology, for many reasons. One, because Liza said I should and I’m afraid of her so I just do what she says. Two, so people outside of my immediate family who have the strange urge to check and see if I’m still alive can freely do so. Three, so if I lose my physical journal, I’ll have something to show people to avoid verbal interactions. And finally because while I’ve been planning my gap year, all of my useful resources have been British or Australian. Sorry, but in America we have flashlights. I’m not bringin a torch. I won’t have room in my bag for that many twigs. But I do feel like Americans are pressured to go straight from high school to college, then to get a good job, get married, have 2.5 lovely children, buy a nice house, then die. I’d rather take this time while I’m young to travel and if somehow, someone outside my family reads this, they’ll be inspired to do the same and even perhaps learn from my mistakes.

One response to this post.

  1. Posted by KaoZoua Xiong on May 18, 2012 at 9:27 pm

    Iol! You’re so funny Tom! I laughed like ten times while reading this! Promise to post pictures too while you’re gone! I’m going to miss my health buddy 😥

    Reply

Leave a Reply

